Lucky Charms. We’re doomed.

My office has a well-stocked kitchen – I say TOO well-stocked. I’ve worked in offices long-enough to remember how office food and drink availability used to be graded:

  • Free coffee = great
  • Coffee + soda = awesome
  • Anything more = Holy shit! Is this Disneyland?

Now that we’ve finally reached the age where millennial workers must be courted, offices are forced to cater to their whims. Some of it’s good: the snack game has improved greatly (fresh fruit, cheese+crackers, yogurt, etc.) And some is bad: Pop Tarts, Fruit Roll-Ups, and sugary cereal.

lucky_charms

Every time an adult eats this, a unicorn is bludgeoned to death

This morning, I couldn’t believe my eyes:

A GROWN-ASS MAN WAS SITTING IN THE KITCHEN, AT 10:00 AM,
ENJOYING A BOWL OF LUCKY CHARMS CEREAL!

Here’s why we’re doomed: a website, YouGov.com (?) asked, “Do you think it’s normal or weird to eat cereal for meals other than breakfast?” 81% say “normal,” 10% say “weird.” (sigh)

cereal_survey

Not weird, say four in five “adults”

Cereal is for children, and sugary cereal is for no one. Grow-up!

News flash: I judge you. Harshly.